Brief History About Bwari As An Area Council In The FCT

Bwari Area Council come into being as a result of January 5th 1976 promulgation of decree No. 6 creating the new Federal Capital Territory there by receiving a legal backing. The decree also positioned a Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA) to plan, design and develop the Territory. For proper Management and development of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) seven development area councils was created namely: Abaji, Bwari, Karshi, kuje, Kwali, Rubochi, and Yaba were created in 1981. These Development Areas soon metamorphosed into four Area councils as follows:

1. Abaji Area Council
2. Abuja Municipal Area Council
3. Gwagwalada Area Council
4. Kuje Area Council

Bwari as a Development Area than, fell under the Abuja municipal Area Council (AMAC) and was thus, administered though the administrative secretaries, until it becomes a full-fledged Area Council It will not be out of place to mention the Development Area had 5 administrative secretaries that administered it from 1980 to1996. These Secretaries were directly responsible to the then Deputy Mayor/Chairman of AMAC as the head. The following were the administrative secretaries that pilot the affairs of the Development Area since inception until 1996 when it gained its autonomy as an Area Council.

S/N Name From To
1 J.P. Kolo 1980 1983
2 Ishaya Babuwa 1983 1984
3 Alh. Sadiq H. Abubakar 1984 1991
4 Alh. Baba Wumi 1992 1993
5 Mr.Moses Banko Ushafa JP 1994 1996

S/N Name Portfolio Tenure
1 Alh. Ado Uba yakasai 1st sole Aministrator Dec.1996-march 199
2 Hon. Samson Bab Galuwyi 1st Executive Chairman March 1994-june 1997
3 Mr. Haruna Simon Ag. Chairman June 1997- July 1998
4 Alh.Usman Moh’d Gaya Sole Administrator July 1998-may 1999
5 Hon.Samson Baba Galuwyi Executive Chairman May 1999-March 2004
6 Hon.Isah Dara Bwari Executive Chairman April 2004-March2007
7 Mr. Jimiko D. Habakkuk Sole Administrator March 2007- may 2007
8 Hon.Isah Dara Bwari Executive Chairman May 2007-May 2010
9 Hon. Peter Yohanna Ushafa Executive Chairman May 2010- Date

Bwari area council has two graded Chief of 2nd and 3rd class status. They are addressed as Serkin Bwari and ESU Bwari respectively , the two indigenous dominant tribes are Gbagyi koro ethnic groups and the stated tribes in the council include Hawusa Fulani, igbo south south, Yoruba igala amongst other Nigeria. The council has 14 districts and all the village and hamlet heads are answerable to the districts heads under whose jurisdiction they fall. The council has 10 political wards each represented by elected Councilor. Bwari Area Council and AMAC make the FCT/AMAC/ Bwari Federal Constituency.

Hon. Peter Yahanna Abanaya Ushafa- Chairman.
Hon. Abubakar Bala Matawali-v/Chairman.
Hon. Luka Zamishi Council Secretary
Mr. Isaac Adegboro-s/c Agric.
Hon. Mohammed Inusa s/c Education.
Danladi F. Kuduru s/c Special Duties.
Fedelia Onyeachonam s/c Environment.
Hon. Zakari Yau Dutse s/c works.
Hon. Aliyu Abubakar s/c

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your custom text © Copyright 2018. All rights reserved.